North Eastern Counties XC 2012


North East Cover 


Another great day at the North Eastern Counties Cross Country Championships at Summerhill Park Hartlepool.  Following on from Ricky Stevenson’s win last year, Andy Wiles took over the mantle and won the Senior Men’s Title.  On a course that could only be described as muddy!  Andy went out fast with a narrow lead at the first of four water jumps (see video!).  He continued to dominate the race but never held a lead of more than about 30m from his nearest challengers.  A late fall on the final descent, reduced his lead but he still had time to jog the home straight and take the applause.   We also had 3 other runners in the top 10, with Dom Shaw 6th, Russ Best 8th and Shaun O’Grady 10th.    New Marske men’s team came 5th with Tom Danby 36th, Andy Pearson 45th and Darren Bell 124th the other counters.  (We would have been 2nd Team had Dom Shaw not been a late entry.)   Team Manager Jon Pearse, safely sat in the tent, came as close to winning as he ever will with the tannoy announcer congratulating him on his 6th place!


P1950421Frances Bell, with another year yet to go in the U13 race, had a great run to finish just outside the medals in 4th place in the U13 girls race.  Sam Garratt was 6th in the U15 boys and Wayne Parker 10th in the U20 men. Kath Aspin was best placed in the senior women’s race in 33rd with Jill Sexton and Amanda Waller completing the ladies team. 





Photos   Results  Mens Video Ladies Video

Go to top