Hartlepool Marina 5 Mile Road Race – 03/04/16


Hartlepool5 Start


A record 533 finishers completed the annual Hartlepool Marina 5 mile road race in near perfect conditions.  Taking a break from writing about Premier League chasing Middlesbrough, the Gazette writer and New Marske Harriers Athlete Dom Shaw glided to victory setting a new course record of 24:24 knocking a minute and a half of the previous course record set by 2nd placed Middlesbrough and Cleveland Athlete Greg Jayasuriya, 25:57.  Quakers Michael Joyeux completed the top 3 in 26:07.

Dom took control of the race after the first mile and steadily picked up the pace to set his 3rd PB in 4 weeks following on from PB’s in the Trafford 10K and Thirsk 10 mile race.

It was good day for the New Marske men with 17 year old Hassan Ben-Tiba coming in 4th in 26:29 to pick up the junior prize and 16 year old Harry Allan, 7th 26:45 clinching the men’s team prize for New Marske.

In the ladies race, North East Masters Cross Country Champion Joasia Zakrzewski  strolled to victory in 28:54 in a race dominated by veterans.  New Marske’s Kay Neesam was 2nd 30:36, Darlington’s Bernadette Caygill 3rd 31:45 and New Marske’s Kath Aspin 4th 31:53.  New Marske completed a clean sweep of team prizes winning the ladies team prize with Kay, Kath & Trish Speedie picking up the Champagne on offer.

Along with Dom Shaw there were also Personal Bests for New Marske’s Harry Allan, Kay Neesam, Trish Speedie, Julian Wilkinson and Helen Tyreman.   The race also combined the North East Masters 5 mile Championships with Kath Aspin picking up a Gold Medal in the Vet45 category.

HArtlepool5 2016

Results   Finish Photos Dave Aspin   Karen's Photos



Go to top