Hartlepool Marina 5 Mile Road Race - 07/04/13



The traditional firing of the cannon on the Hartlepool Historic Quay signalled the start of the Hartlepool 5 mile road race. 348 runners set off along the coast to Seaton Carew with blue sky and a gentle wind providing ideal running conditions.   Middlesbrough and Cleveland’s Greg Jayasuriya set off at a fast pace building up a 100m lead after the first mile.  New Marske’s James Bulman stayed with a pack of around 5 runners in the early stages before closing the gap on Greg along with Paul Marchant at the half way point.  Paul then edged away from James with Greg falling back in to third place not being able to sustain his early pace.  Paul Marchant went on to win the race in 25:53, James Bulman 19 seconds behind in 2nd with Greg edging out Nathan Reed to 3rd by 1 second.  In the ladies race Kerry Matthew of Middlesbrough AC lead from start to finish winning in 30:16 with Michelle Avery 2nd and Carolyn Ollis 3rd.  New Marske’s Kath Aspin came home 5th and 1st V45.   Other New Marske winners included Phil Miles 1st V70 and  Jim Conaghan 2nd V75.  Also running for New Marske  were David Paley, Erin Pearson, Nick O’Grady, Michael Carter, Sandra Jemson and Julian Wilkinson.  


Results     Photos




Go to top