Maltby 7 Mile Road Race - 09/11/14



A perfect day for what the organisers announced was to be the last running of the annual Maltby 7 mile road race.  The number of competitors wanting to run means the race has out grown its location.   The race got underway with New Marske’s Jim Bulman, Middlesbrough & Cleveland’s Greg Jayasuriya and Thirsk & Sowerby’s Gary Dunn leading the way.  At the 5 mile mark with Greg and Jim having pulled away from Gary, Greg upped the pace and his younger legs had the edge over Jim over this distance.  Greg went on to win by 1 minute with Jim in 2nd and Gary 3rd a further 54 seconds behind.

The ladies race was dominated by New Marske, with Kay Neesam going out hard to lead for most of the race and Kath Aspin overhauling Middlesbrough and Cleveland’s Carolyn Ollis in the final mile to make it a New Marske 1-2.   Along with Trish Speedie, New Marske took the winning ladies team prize.

New Marske’s other prize winners included Andrew Pearson, 7th and 2nd vet40 and Ronnie Sherwood 169th and 2nd vet70.    There were also good runs from Martin Murray 10th, Simon Clements 15th, Phil Musgrave 17th, Chris Whiles 40th, David Paley 44th, Julian Wardman 77th, Trish Speedie 15th lady, Thomas Bunn 113th, Doug Scott 199th, Jim Conaghan 223rd and Dave Matthews 275th.

Results  - Photos


Go to top