North Eastern Counties Road Relay Championships - 15/02/14

wRR Dave Aspin


New Marske Harriers were out in force at the North Eastern Counties Road Relay Championships at a wet and miserable Hetton Lyons Country Park. Fielding three men’s and three ladies teams each leg was over 2.2 miles, twice around the country park.  The ladies went first and the New Marske ‘A Team’ of Lisa Bennett, Shelli Gordon, Kath Aspin and Kay Neesam all had great runs to clinch 2nd place and a silver medal in the Veteran Ladies Category. 

In an exciting men’s race, New Marske ‘A Team’ were 13th after the first leg by the youngest team member Sam Garrett, Dom Shaw then had a cracking run to lift the team to 3rd overall.  Andy Wiles then set one of the fastest legs of the day (10:48) to lift the team to 1st place.  The final two team members, Shaun O’Grady and Russ Best then had a good battle with Gateshead Harriers and were pipped to the win by Gateshead.  Another excellent 2nd and silver medal.

For a small club like New Marske this is an excellent result and all the ‘B’ and ‘C’ team runners had an enjoyable, whilst damp day out.

Not content with picking up a Silver Medal on Saturday, the New Marske Ladies braved the elements to take part in the Commondale Clart Fell Race the following day, with Kay Neesam, Lisa Bennett and Helen Whitney all having excellent runs.


Relay Results     Photos

Brass Monkey Half Marathon - 19/01/14


Just over 1400 runners descended on York Racecourse for this year’s Brass Monkey Half Marathon.  The organisers had kept their fingers crossed as last year’s race was cancelled due to snow.  The race started in cool conditions with light rain and whilst the course was around local villages there were still a few water jumps to contend with!

P2290049Sixteen New Marske runners made the trip down.  Shaun O’Grady was first Harrier home in an excellent 7th place in 71:53.P2290012  John Clifford was next up in 17th place, 75:05, picking up the 1st v40 prize.  Martin Murray again in the prizes being 3rd V45 in 79:32.  Kath Aspin picked up the 1st Vet45 prize in 90:13.  Completing the prizes was Ronnie Sherwood collecting the 1st Veteran 70+ prize in a fabulous 1hr 48 minutes with over 500 runners behind him!

There were also PB’s for Paul Cleasby 85:45, the ever improving Dave Hodgson 89:07,  Gemma Parkin 98:36, Trish Speedie 1:40:52,  Brenda Wilkin 1:45:40 and Tanya Dixon 2:14:10.  There were also good runs from Erin Corbyn, Joanne Goldsmith, Mick McGurk, Doug Scott and Phil Miles. 

Other local runners in the prizes included Redcar’s Pam Costello, 1st vet60, Hartlepool’s Sarah Black, 3rd Vet40 and Darlington’s Shirley Gibson 1st vet65+.


Results   Photos Video of start

A Dashing Good Race!

AP Leeds 201 


For those not on Facebook or Twitter, here is what you are missing from Andy Pearson’s Blog of the Leeds Abbey Dash

Perfect conditions today at the Dash and some super quick times.  The course was slightly different to last year but followed the same basic out and back course.  It was a super loaded field at the front end and the times on the day reflect the quality of the field.  Local athlete Matty Hynes took the win in a super quick 29.23.  14 athletes went under 30 minutes and of these  10 set personal bests including Vet 40 winner Andrew Ward of Clowne AC in 29.57.

In the Ladies race Louise Damen took the win with a quality 33.04 (pb).   Ist Vet 40 Lady was Emma Stepto of Cornwall in a pb of 33.23.    Emma ran 2:35.02 at the Amsterdam Marathon which shows what a quality athlete she is.  

My own race went to plan.   I was hoping for a sub 34 and managed to just achieve that with a 34.02 gun time translating into a 33.58 chip time.   First 5km 16:50, Second 5km 17:08.   In comparison to last year I'm two seconds down so don't think Ive hit the downward slide yet.   Half joked today that I would like to do a sub 34 every year until I'm 50!   1st Vet 50 today was Keith Smith of Tyne Bridge Harriers in 34:05.   Think I may have found a nice long term target for myself!

Link to Andy's Blog


New Marske Harriers Results

Russ Best was 1st Harrier home in 30th place, just 13 seconds and 13 places outside last year’s performance.  From the pictures it looks like he had a good battle with Wondiye Fikre with the same gun time showing at the finish with Russ 4 seconds up on Chip time.

Pick of the results was Jim Conaghan, 1st M75, Phil Miles 2nd M70 and Lorraine Allamby  3rd F65.

Other notable results included John Clifford 12th M40, David Hodgson 16th M55 and Jeff Moulder 16th M65.

Many other good runs including Tristan Learoyd, Phil Musgrave, Gemma Parkin, Trish Speedie, Julie Hodgson, Colin Scollay and Amanda Waller.

Photos   Results



Andy is just Champion









The final Northern Athletics 10 Mile Championship at Carlisle started in drastic style, when a fully laden sheep truck turned into the narrow road as the 500 plus runners were setting off. However, there were no obstacles big enough 
to prevent Andrew Wiles, New Marske Harriers, from winning the race in 50:50. Whilst he had company for the first 3 miles, he quickly pulled out a 19 second gap from the 2nd and 3rd, who were running together at that stage. Trafford's Tom Charles, however, had a strong final 3 miles where he reduced the gap on the leader to a mere 9 seconds, and pulled away to finish in 50:59, well over a minute and a half in front of Jarrow and Hebburn's Andy Burn, who was 3rd in 51:45.

In 4th place was Trafford's Gavin Tomlinson, with Jeff Prest finishing 9th overall, as well as being 3rd counter for the in form Trafford team. Last year Trafford were the silver medal team, but this time it was an emphatic gold, with 13 points. 2nd team this year was Border Harriers, 31 points, with Morpeth Harriers in 3rd place scoring 60 points.

Report Ken Smith
Photos Eileen Ingham

Chronicle Report


Maltby 7 - 10/11/13


Report by Clive Thornton

More success for New Marske Harriers,  the ladies taking the honours but due to no lack of effort from the men.
Over a not too often run distance, the Maltby 7 (miles) is a single circuit race starting at Maltby climbing out to Seamer past the wind turbines and then returning to Maltby via Thornton, a good road race over a testing course. The day started out cold and frosty, but by race start it was warmed by the sunshine.
Kath Aspin (4th lady and 63rd overall - 48:33) was first home of the New Marske Ladies, claiming the F45 1st prize, Lisa Bennett (6th lady, 68th overall - 48:48) and claimed 1st F35 prize. Patricia Speedie was home in 146th and Amanda Waller 229th.
In the men's race Clive Thornton came in 19th overall from a finishing field of 327 in a time of 43:04, (10th M40, 12 vets in the top 20!). Next up was Chris Whiles in 35th in 46:20, followed by David Paley ( 65th - 48:37) and Doug Scott 152nd in all the fives 55:55.


Page 21 of 37

Go to top